CHOCOLATE for Breakfast!!

As any chocolatephile (is that a word?) knows, the best way to start the morning is with chocolate.  Now, if it’s a chocolate bar, a piece of chocolate cake or a bowl of chocolate ice cream, then one should generally sneak it in before her children find her!  If, though, it’s officially breakfast food, then she can share it with the world!

chocolatepancakes2

I found this recipe for Cocoa Pancakes in my latest Taste of Home recipe magazine.  I didn’t have the mini-chocolate chips to add, but I did use Special Dark Hershey’s Cocoa, which more than made up for it.  I’m all for changing the name of the pancakes to CHOCOLATE pancakes, though, just because it sounds more decadent.

See, even the batter looks yummy:

chocolatepancakes1

I made fresh whipped cream for topping because I didn’t want to distract from the CHOCOLATE with plain ole syrup.  Lizzie was my taste-tester. chocolatepancakes5

 

 

 

 

 

 

I subscribe to the idea that bacon for breakfast keeps all sorts of ills away.  What a glorious start to our day!

chocolatepancakes4

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo Evans
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 12:30:02

    Sure looks like chocolate cake to me!!! But you Dad has always loved Bill Cosby’s famous skit about Dad giving the kids chocolate cake for breakfast – maybe that was in your subconscious when you saw this recipe????

    Reply

Please, join the conversation!

