Polka Dotty Cake

It’s Dr. Seuss Week, you know!  Caroline’s 1st grade class does a week-long unit using all things Seussical, and the teacher asked me to make a cake to finish off the festivities.  I Googled Dr. Suess Cakes…and whew!  It’s a little overwhelming. 😦

Undaunted, I came up with a grand plan for my own cake, which I will reveal on Friday.  Before I started the fancy-dancy final cake, though, I wanted to practice:

I started by making red velvet cake balls. I found a pancake batter dispenser a few months ago that works like a dream for this: NO DRIPS!  I undercooked the balls just slightly.

Polka dot cake 4

I used a yellow cake mix for contrast and spread a thin layer on the bottom of a 9-inch round cake pan. Polka dot cake1Once I placed the balls gently on the batter, I covered them (mostly) with the rest of the batter.  (For future reference, I think 8″ pans would work better since they’re deeper.)

Polka dot cake2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I baked the cakes for the regular time, layered them, frosted them, rainbow-sprinkled them (of course!).

Wa-La:  A Polka Dotty Cake!

Polka dot cake5

Note: Check out that snazzy cake server!  I’ve decided to start collecting them…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Esther Klassen
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 15:53:55

    love it!!

    Reply

  2. Jo Evans
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 16:13:54

    What fun! If I had anyone to eat it I would try it. Maybe I’ll fix it the next time I fix something for a kids party at Church!

    Reply

Please, join the conversation!

