Pancakes for Breakfast…or…My Little Girl is Growing Up Too Quickly

Mornings are a little rough for Lauren: she takes a theme from one of her aunts (Rachel, do you remember the agony we went through getting you up and moving in the mornings?) and would prefer to just wait to start her day until the rest of the household is ready for a late morning nap.

So, I’m continually trying to find ways to make mornings easier, less painful for her (and for the rest of us!).  This morning, I asked her to make breakfast for the family.  Lauren hopped out of bed and dashed for the kitchen.

“What am I making, Mama?”  I suggested pancakes and handed her this recipe from that fabulous site, Allrecipes.com. (The only “extra” added this morning was vanilla.)

I was prepared to help her measure, pour and stir.  I left the kitchen for a moment to do my every-minute-of-every-waking-hour sweep of Josie’s mouth to clear it of small, random pieces of things, and when I came back, this is what I found:

How did she know how to measure, pour and stir?  I asked her, and she just shrugged. “I’m 8 years old, Mama.”  ANd that confirmed it…I guess.  Of course, I’m thrilled she’s growing up self-confident and able, but geez, did it have to happen so soon?

Anyway, back to breakfast.  Lauren waited impatiently and flipped with panache.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And her family ate with relish…um…syrup, actually.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Esther
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 08:43:11

    Looks yummy

    Reply

Please, join the conversation!

