“Artistic Food,” by my daughters

I love to cook, bake, saute, broil, grill, braise, sear and flambe (although, I must say my flambe-ing has, so far, only been done by accident) for my family.  In fact, I think I could make a case for it being the 6th Love Language.

Most of my enjoyment is in the creation of the meal and table presentation.  I haven’t progressed to a focus on plating the food.  The main reason?  I’m feeding a family of six!!  By the time I get five plates, a suction bowl for the baby (this NEVER stays stuck!), two glasses, three cups, seventeen paper towels (I have learned to not bother with plain ole napkins), salt, pepper, ketchup (for everything!), four forks, at least one spoon, only two knives and more paper towels, I have just enough oomph left to dump some food on my plate and inhale it before the baby dumps her peas in her lap…again.

My oldest daughters, though, without ever noticing their melting-down mother, take their time and make their plates aesthetically pleasing:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jo Evans
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:39:48

    It may be prettier, but your way would definitely be the way I would want to eat it! Your Grandpa Evans used to say; “Well, it will all get mixed up down below anyway.”
    Love ya
    P.S. Did I get the punctuation right?

    Reply

Please, join the conversation!

