Making Bread…A True Craft

I started studying the ingredient list for a loaf of bread: emulsifiers, fillers, conditioners, etc.  Here is a breakdown of some of the ick.

Since I have the time and talent, I decided to start making bread for my family.  We go through quite a bit in a week; the girls take PBJs to school at least 3 days a week.  Through some trial and error (more error, of course!), I have settled on a double batch of Amish Bread with a few modifications (which will be detailed soon) made on Tuesdays. I make one large loaf and two small ones.

The girls like the small ones for their sandwiches…and the best part is they eat the crusts on this bread!  Less waste!!

While I know feeding my family better food is the main reason I make bread, I must admit it just feels good.  I love the zingy smell of proofing yeast, the little puffs of flour dust while I’m mixing, the heft of a just-kneaded ball of dough.

Sometimes I cheat and use my Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook attachment, but generally, I knead the old-fashioned way with lots of elbow grease and a big mess.

Here’s the best reason, though, to make bread: http://youtu.be/IfIFWx1QU6s

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shawndra Tosh
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 01:16:59

    I love homemade bread!! I haven’t made some in a long time, however, you have inspired me to definitely make some this week!!! Yummy! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Shawndra Tosh
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 01:18:10

    I love homemade bread!! I haven’t made some in a long time, however, you have inspired me to definitely make some this week!!! Yummy! 🙂 I just wish mine turned out as pretty as yours, obviously I need more practice!

    Reply

  3. hannie6
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 16:06:46

    Your family will love your practice loaves, too!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jo Evans
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 16:26:42

    Oh, yeah! Takes me back! The big problem for me has always been that your Dad and I both eat 3 times as much bread if it is homemade. I’m really glad you’re doing it though – always better for you!
    Love ya

    Reply

Please, join the conversation!

