Crafting a Garden, part 1

Last year, my front lawn was awful…brown, weedy, rough.  My flowers, though, were magnificent!Front of my home

I would direct people to my house by mentioning the lack of lawn and the profusion of roses and scarlet runner beans.

This year, I wanted to get a head start on my vines, so I gathered up the surprisingly beautiful bean seeds from last year’s plants.  Bob and the girls planted them in biodegradable pots…and we waited…and waited…and waited.

The excitement when they sprouted was infectious!  The girls measured the spindly stems, counted leaves and bragged on their green thumbs.  In truth, I’m rather astonished the seedlings managed to survive the loving.

Bob hooked up a grow light in the basement, and the girls (so far) are faithfully watering their pots.  I think it helps I found the cutest watering pot ever.  And, moms, please notice the little hole in the top makes for much less spilling!!So, here, after several weeks, are the scarlet runner bean plants.  Not too shabby for my school-girl gardeners!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dugutigui
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 09:00:45

    A matter of time… I guess 🙂

    Reply

  2. hannie6
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 09:07:52

    I hope so…I’ll keep you posted! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Jo Evans
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 10:25:00

    I will expect to see them tomorrow!
    Grandma

    Reply

  4. Carol Ritter
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 00:01:30

    Change the name ‘mush’ to ‘polenta’ and I’ll eat it when I visit.

    Reply

Please, join the conversation!

