The Trials of Breakfast…or Pocahontas’ Breakfast

My kids would be happy with cold cereal and milk every day.  I guess, though, I have too much of my mother in me to serve this more than once a week; once a week is usually on Sundays because getting all 6 of us out the door by 8:00and looking good is rather overwhelming!

As an aside, my mother served hot breakfasts to us almost every day!  To five kids!  It was scrambled eggs, oatmeal, very flat french toast (that’s another story…another post!), pancakes, incredibly healthy waffles (again…another story!).  I love my mother dearly, but I wasn’t fond of her breakfasts.  I wanted cold cereal!!!!  Now, I’m a mom of (only) 4, and I won’t let my kids have cold cereal…the irony is not lost on my 8 year old.

I tried something new this week to serve for breakfast: cornmeal mush.  I remember having it a few times when I was a kid, and I always liked it. To tempt my kids, I served it with a twist: I named it Pocahontas’ Breakfast.  And, by golly, after a long discussion of whether or not the Indians used tap water or river water, sugar or syrup, ceramic bowls or wooden trenchers, the girls gobbled it down.

  Recipe:

3 cups water
1 cup cornmeal mixed with another 1 cup water
1 t salt

Boil first 3 cups of water, then slowly whisk in cornmeal mixture. Stir constantly (very constantly) for 5 minutes.  Lower heat to simmer, cover, and cook another 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Serve with “just a ‘plash” (Lizzie says) of milk and a sprinkle of sugar.

 

 

 

 

I do wish, however, for a better name than “mush.”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo Evans
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 15:31:59

    I suppose you have forgotten the very last time I served you kids corn meal mush out in G.P. I wasn’t eating until after you were all finished (happened alot!). You all kept complaining about little black specks in your mush. Well, you know, corn meal can little black specks ligitimately; but when I went to eat my bowl a bit later, I found that the little black specks were weavils. Maybe I never told you, I don’t remember. But I’m confessing now; that is why my cornmeal is always, always, kept in the freezer (to this day)!!!!
    Love, Mom

    Reply

  2. Merrie Hansen
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 09:25:14

    I was going to say, “Your mom is so proud of you,” and I know she is, but I like her confession casts a whole new light on hot breakfast at the Evans’ house. 🙂

    Reply

Please, join the conversation!

